My Saturday Morning at the Farmers’ Market

Braving the temperate weather and early-risers Saturday morning, I ventured downtown to Republic Square Park today to check out one of Austin’s farmers’ markets. No matter your location, farmers’ markets are a great way to sample local produce and get the freshest, tastiest ingredients onto your table. Using fresh, local food also reduces your exposure to preservatives and gives you greater control over your diet. In short, it’s a great idea! Austin also happens to have a great selection of local farmers who bring their products directly to consumers every Saturday morning.

I borrowed a friend, and her phone, so I could take pictures of some of the great produce at this week’s market. Forgive the poor photography, I make no claims of being a professional:

The artichokes looked great.

And:

...so did all the fresh herbs!

Aside from produce, local entrepreneurs bring all sorts of home necessities, including some meat and seafood for sale. There’s also a fair amount of vendors selling preprepared food for your culinary delight, and, being Austin, there’s usually good coffee and breakfast tacos around.

Lucky for us, there was also some entertainment on hand Saturday morning:

A local six-piece string band playing at the Republic Square Park farmer's market

There’s even dessert:

It tastes even better than it looks

If you’re nearby and have the inclination, check out next week’s farmers’ market, 9am at Republic Square Park!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kurt Mitschke on April 4, 2010 at 10:56 am

    A classmate and I wrote a story on this earlier in the semester for another class, and it soon became one of my favorite places in Austin. It’s just a really cool, relaxing environment–very “Austin-y.” All the vendors there are very friendly too. I can’t wait to go back!

    Reply

  2. Farmer’s markets are awesome. It’s nice to know everything is straight from someone’s garden, rather than passed through who knows how many hands, truck and crates. It’s a great way to support local growers and get some fresh, tasty produce in your house. I haven’t been to one in a while, but I plan on going pretty soon.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Patricia Rodriguez on April 4, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    There is a great famer’s market every Saturday morning in the parking lot of the Berger Center in South Austin. Lots of veggies and organic meats but also just a lot of good shopping in general. I bought the greatest necklace from a woman selling jewerly there. I got a potted plant too. Check it out; it is worth it!

    Reply

  4. First, I am going to say in general I am getting a little uneasy with the way Actively Austin is moving in on Austin Appetite’s territory with all these food posts. 😉 Just kidding.

    No description of the this place can really do it justice. I’ve been to a lot of farmer’s markets, and this still tops them all. Was the lady who makes her own jams and jellies still out there? Although she has some crazy flavors out there, her wild fruit mixture (which the name of it escapes me) would be my go to toast topping if I could ever get back out to pay a visit.

    Reply

    • Posted by Will Anderson on April 5, 2010 at 12:18 am

      Haha, sorry Ryan, there’s just so much good to eat in Austin. Y’all are always welcome to do a cycling/golfing post though! And I didn’t see any jam/jelly sellers, but that’s probably my own fault. I’m making a point to go next week and re-up on some artichokes, so I’ll do some more digging and report back.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

