Archive for April 1st, 2010

Smoothies: The Working Man’s Best Friend

Tragically my Blackberry and technical ineptness prevent me from posting the climactic video in which I make tomorrow morning’s smoothie. I will do my best to describe my process.

Ingredients for my morning smoothie:

Protein Infused milk, green tea, organic fruit juice, pasteurized egg whites. I am not technical at all in the quantities of each, I just splash them in.

Then I add some combination of the following frozen fruit: Raspberries, Strawberries, Blueberries, coconut, and kiwi.

Then half a banana and a few baby carrots. Sometimes I add honey and peanut butter.

It is much more enthralling on the video. You would have seen the inside of my refrigerator, a bird’s eye view of a smoothie while it is being blended, and a HILARIOUS bit where I pretend like I’m going to put whiskey in the smoothie, but then I don’t. Boy did y’all miss out.

Seriously though, smoothies are really good to have in the morning and even better in the evening when you get home from school/work and are tired but still have tasks. They are easy to make, tasty, and ridiculously vitamin and nutrient rich.

Hope you enjoyed the cell phone edition of Active Austin, and I certainly hope no youtube viewers stumble upon my video and I end up a clip on a video like the one we watched in class today.